Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime Price, Specifications, Reviews, features and Comparisons

Add to compare
Deal Score+1

$216.78

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime (32GB) G610F/DS - 5.5" Dual SIM Unlocked Phone with Finger Print Sensor (Black) - $216.78
Price history
×
Price history for Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime (32GB) G610F/DS - 5.5" Dual SIM Unlocked Phone with Finger Print Sensor (Black)
Latest updates:
  • $216.78 - March 28, 2018
  • $216.98 - March 26, 2018
  • $219.50 - March 23, 2018
  • $219.01 - March 22, 2018
  • $219.00 - March 20, 2018
  • $218.50 - March 19, 2018
  • $216.90 - March 16, 2018
  • $216.05 - March 14, 2018
Since: January 7, 2018
  • Highest Price: $259.00 - January 18, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $212.00 - January 15, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: April 21, 2018 4:35 pm (Info)
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
1
1

Look And Feel

Samsung users have been complaining for years about the lack of variety in designs across the Galaxy range. The South Korean company has made a few changes in terms of design in the premium segment, though its budget and mid-range models largely still bear the same old Samsung styling. The Galaxy J7 Prime is also part of that same crowd.It sports a physical home button just below the display, with capacitive Recents and Back buttons placed on either side. With the addition of metal rear panel, the new J7 Prime looks solidly built, and its rounded sides make it easier to hold the device. At 8mm, the Galaxy J7 Prime is slightly thick, though it feels light for a 5.5-inch phone at 167 grams. The 3.5mm audio jack and Micro-USB port are on the bottom. A Samsung logo is embossed above the phone’s display, plus there’s more branding at the back.The metal body definitely gives this phone an edge over others in the same price range. There’s also 2.5D Corning Gorilla Glass spread across the front, giving it a premium feel.

With a screen size of 5.5-inches, the J7 Prime isn’t ideal for one-handed use, and during our review period, we preferred using both our hands. The metal rear panel also made the handset slightly slippery, especially with sweaty hands. The power button is placed on the right and is accompanied by a single speaker grille. On the left you’ll find the two distinct volume buttons as well as the SIM and microSD card slots. Samsung has emphasised that the J7 Prime features separate SIM and microSD card slots, which is an advantage over hybrid slots which force users to choose between using two SIMs or one SIM and a microSD card.The rear panel of the J7 Prime sports a minimalistic design and houses the primary camera accompanied by an LED flash. It’s worth pointing out that the back panel isn’t entirely metal; there are plasticky panels at the top and bottom, though the paint job gives them a metallic feel.The Galaxy J7 Prime’s fingerprint scanner is embedded in the home button and was always easy to use. Fingerprint recognition was quick for unlocking the device. Double-tapping the home button launches the camera instantaneously, and this even worked with the phone locked.The Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime features a 5.5-inch full-HD (1080×1920-pixel) display, which is quite bright and vivid with no legibility issues even under sunlight. Colours look good, and black levels are also decent. The 480ppi pixel density means that even text looks sharp. The J7 Prime is great for watching videos and games.

2

Camera

The Galaxy J7 Prime sports a 13-megapixel rear camera with a decently large f/1.9 aperture and an LED flash. The large aperture lets the handset capture more light per shot, resulting in detailed photos during the daytime. Most of the shots taken by the smartphone have good colours and are crisp. We noticed that the handset was able to lock focus quickly, which is an advantage.In artificial light or low light, the shots taken with the Galaxy J7 Prime still look crisp, though slight graininess can be seen when checking out images at full size. Overall, the rear camera on the J7 Prime performed well in varied conditions. We however wish that Samsung could have offered few more options for video. The phone can record videos at full-HD resolution, but that’s about it.The 8-megapixel front camera also sports an f/1.9 aperture which means selfies were detailed. In low-light conditions, the front camera took some shots with a lot of noise and we wish this had been better. The camera app on the J7 Prime was easy to use and launched really quickly.

3

Performance

During the review period, the Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime was able to handle almost everything we threw at it. The octa-core processor performed really well and we had no complaints. It handles games like Dead Trigger 2 with ease. Multi-tasking on the J7 Prime was fine and apps launched quickly.While using the device, we noticed that there was almost 1.3GB of memory free at any time which was impressive. The 5.5-inch screen is ideal for watching videos and playing games. The sound quality from speakers was surprisingly good and we didn’t notice any distortion at higher volumes. Samsung didn’t send us headphones with the box so we tested audio quality through our own headphones, and we were impressed.

We were however slightly disappointed with the fingerprint scanner on the Galaxy J7 Prime. It worked really well most of the time but occasionally gave us a hard time, requiring us to press down on the home button for several seconds. We have seen better and quicker implementation on smartphones priced below the J7 Prime.During our review, the Galaxy J7 Prime was able latch up to 4G connectivity decently and we were able to use a 4G Vodafone SIM at all times.In our standard benchmark tests, the Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime performed well with scores of 45,795 in AnTuTu and 23,955 in Quadrant. In 3D Mark Ice Storm Extreme, the J7 Prime returned a score of 5019. However in GFXBench, the phone managed just 11fps.

4

Battery Life

The Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime is backed by a non-removable 3300mAh battery. In our video loop test, the handset ran for 14 hours and 50 minutes, which is not bad for a phone at this price. With medium usage, the Galaxy J7 Prime lasted for almost 36 hours after which we had to reach for a charger.Apart from regular calls, we used Telegram, Outlook, Gmail, WhatsApp, Facebook, and Twitter which remained open in the background almost all throughout. We also used the camera occasionally and streamed music while performing other everyday tasks. When we added graphics-intensive games and streaming YouTube videos, the battery life came down to less than 12 hours but this is still pretty much standard.We have to commend Samsung for the new S Power Planning feature which came in handy during the review period. The Reserve Battery For Calls feature was one of our favourite power saving options and was of help a few times when we were unable to charge the phone. It’s worth mentioning that on selecting the Extend Battery Time option, users will be left with limited phone functionality as it kills a lot of features. Users can see how much useful time they’ll have at the current charge level for each of the three levels available. The option is claimed to give users up to twice the usual amount of battery life.Samsung is not touting any kind of fast charging support for the J7 Prime but we noticed that it went to 40 percent from zero in just about 30 minutes which isn’t bad at all. The phone took slightly less than two hours to charge fully from zero.

 

8 Total Score

Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime smartphone was launched in September 2016. The phone comes with a 5.50-inch touchscreen display with a resolution of 1080 pixels by 1920 pixels at a PPI of 401 pixels per inch. Samsung Galaxy J7 Prime price in India starts from Rs. 13,750.

Design
8
Display
8
Software
9
Performance
8
Battery Life
9
Camera
8
PROS
  • Well designed and well built
  • Superb screen
  • S Power Planning feature
  • Decent battery life
CONS
  • Low light camera performance could be better
  • Fingerprint scanner can be tricky at times
Add your review
General
In The Box Handset, Charger, Data Cable, Earphone, Ejector Pin
Model Number SM-G610FZDDINS
Model Name Galaxy J7 Prime
Color Gold
Browse Type Smartphones
SIM Type Dual Sim
Hybrid Sim Slot No
Touchscreen Yes
OTG Compatible Yes
Display Features
Display Size 5.5 inch
Resolution 1920 x 1080 Pixels
Resolution Type Full HD
GPU ARM Mali T830 MP1
Display Type TFT
OS & Processor Features
Operating System Android Marshmallow 6
Processor Type Exynos 7870 Octa Core 1.6GHz
Processor Core Octa Core
Primary Clock Speed 1.6 GHz
Memory & Storage Features
Internal Storage 16 GB
RAM 3 GB
Expandable Storage 256 GB
Supported Memory Card Type microSD
Memory Card Slot Type Dedicated Slot
Call Log Memory Yes
Camera Features
Primary Camera Available Yes
Primary Camera 13MP
Primary Camera Features Auto, Beauty Face, Continuous Shot, HDR (High Dynamic Range), Interval Shot, Night, Panorama, Pro, Sports, Sound & Shot
Secondary Camera Available Yes
Secondary Camera 8MP
Secondary Camera Features Animated Photo, Anti-fog, Auto, Beauty Face, Continuous Shot, HDR (High Dynamic Range), Interval Shot, Night, Panorama, Pro, Selfie, Sports, Wide Selfie
Flash Yes
HD Recording Yes
Full HD Recording Yes
Video Recording Yes
Video Recording Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixel
Call Features
Call Wait/Hold Yes
Conference Call Yes
Hands Free Yes
Video Call Support Yes
Phone Book Yes
Connectivity Features
Network Type 4G, 3G, 2G
Supported Networks 4G LTE, GSM
Internet Connectivity 4G, 3G, Wi-Fi
3G Yes
3G Speed HSPA+ 42.2 Mbps
Bluetooth Support Yes
Bluetooth Version v4.1
Wi-Fi Yes
Wi-Fi Version 802.11 b/g/n
NFC Yes
USB Connectivity Yes
Audio Jack 3.5 mm
Map Support Google Maps
GPS Support Yes
Other Details
Smartphone Yes
Touchscreen Type Capacitive
SIM Size Micro SIM
Removable Battery No
SMS Yes
SIM Access Dual Standby
Sensors Accelerometer, Light Sensor, Proximity Sensor
Supported Languages 14 Languages
Other Features Wi-Fi Speed: 2.4 GHz
Multimedia Features
Audio Formats AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, MP3, AMR
Video Formats MP4, M4V, MKV, XVID Supports MPEG4
Battery & Power Features
Battery Capacity 3300 mAh
Battery Type Li-Ion
Dimensions
Width 75 mm
Height 151.7 mm
Depth 8 mm
Weight 167 g
Warranty
Warranty Summary 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty
Warranty Service Type 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty
Covered in Warranty 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Mobile Phone Price, Specifications, Reviews and Comparions
Register New Account
Reset Password
Compare items
  • Phones (0)
  • (0)
Compare
0